La Belle Paris

Bowl of coffee and a map. Paris, here I come!
Despite high winds, cold weather and a bit of turbulence, my flight into Paris went well. The coolest old man alive sat next to me. Born in Iran, education completed in the States and now living in Texas, this 66-year-old has residency in nine countries and speaks five languages. His passport is filled with an array of stamps and tattered old papers, which he showed me with delight. Another great part of travelling; meeting people is such an experience on its own.

During the first few days I am staying with the same friends who Mom and I visited last winter. Jeanne greeted me with a big smile and helped me with my bags. The three kids, Anne, 15, Pierre, 20, and Clara, 23, were not in, but I met up with them after. Three cups of coffee helped me stay awake so I wouldn’t waste time napping. Situated right in the middle of Paris I am no further than a 15-20 minute walk, or 5-minute metro ride, away from every famous destination; Le Louvre, Arc de Triumph, Champs Elysées, Tour D’Eiffel and Notre Dame, not to mention the never ending boulangeries and shopping centers. We walked for over an hour in the brisk winter air which I am still fighting to adjust to, and came back chez nous where we met the kids and had a beautiful supper of bread, cheese, soup and wine.

For today, wandering aimlessly and Le Louvre. Lucky for me it is free every first Sunday of the month. I’m excited to re-visit the beautiful works of Picasso, Vermeer and statues like Venus de Milo and the Winged Victory of Samothrace. À plus tard!

5 thoughts on “La Belle Paris

Leave a Reply

