Clare, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Clare is a quaint French region on the tip of Nova Scotia, Canada. It is home of the Acadians, Université Sainte-Anne and of course; it is my home away from home. Even after travelling to Tokyo, Dubai and Paris, Clare is the place I will always look forward to coming back to the most. The delectable traditional dish, Rappure, seafood galore and breathtaking country surrounded by the water of the Baie Sainte Marie are just a couple of bonuses of spending time in this region of rich French culture and history. The people are, by far, the most welcoming, patient, happy and downright pee-your-pants kind of laughing group I have ever met. It seems people just want to feed me delicious home-made food and make me laugh, while teaching me their language. How could I not love it!?

Image
One of the beautiful churches in Clare
Image
Celebrating Movember!

Even though it may take 20 minutes (at least) to get a bottle of wine or loaf of bread, the drive is never a drag; the constant glitter of the surrounding Baie never ceases to put one’s mind at rest and in a state of content and peace. By the way, if you do trek out to get a bottle of wine, don’t forget your ID… Even though everybody knows the name of the neighbour’s sister’s child’s best friend’s dog AND their birthday, they will still ask for your ID and inspect it cautiously, every time (Probably while asking how the last party went)!

Image
Taken on the beach behind Sainte-Anne
Image
The most beautiful sunsets in the world happen in Churchpoint.

Image

Image
Taking advantage of the beautiful water in spring time… canoe trips early in the morning are our favourite…
Image
Hidden waterfalls! If you find the right day when the water is not shallow, you can jump off the waterfall and its is sooo cold and refreshing…and super fun!
Image
This is the biggest wooden church in North America… I took this picture at 5:30 am
Image
Just a few of the people I was lucky enough to work with during the session!

But wait, Samara, you are not from NS! Why Clare? Well, as previously mentioned, it is home to Université Sainte-Anne, a small, French university. But Samara, since when do you speak French? Well since 2009, since I did my first five-week Spring session of complete immersion. Yes. Complete immersion. Five weeks. No English (calling home does not count). Party? French. Eating? French. 3am in the morning? French. Grocery store? Yepp, French too. I even dreamt in French. After these five weeks I fell in love. The campus, the community, the people….the entire atmosphere was something I did not want to give up. So three years, two more spring sessions (including one I worked as camp-counsellor) and a semester in regular program later, here I am. (As one of my closest friends here would say, “Single, bilingual and ready to mingle!”) I also learned how to function with only about three to four hours of sleep a night, which really comes in handy!

Image
This is the forrest behind the university… the squirrels are friendly!
Image
Bonfires every Sunday

It’s a hard feeling to explain, and I don’t want to get to corny on you all here, but after you leave Clare you don’t just come back to friends, you come back to a family. I know there will always be places to stay when I come to visit, arms open for hugs and a hot meal waiting, whether a week, a month or even a year passes. I have made friends for life, the kinds of friends you may only talk to once a month but once back together it seems like no time has passed. That is Clare. So now that my school here is coming to an end, thanks to everyone here, school coffee and cafeteria ladies, my camp counsellors when I went here, teachers and amazing people from Clare who made it an amazing experience!

Image
Francois.. You’re considered lucky to have him for a prof.
Image
Nicole, my first prof at Sainte-Anne and probably the biggest influence in my love for the language and university. Amazing person with an enormous heart. Thanks Nicole!!
Image
Ryan, one of my favourite Acadians. First time I peed my pants after laughing so hard since I was four years old. Thanks for that.
Image
My entire year would have sucked MEGA without you three beauties in my life!!!! And you too of course, Luc 🙂 Love you all!!
Image
Yo te amo mi amiga!!! Basically me, in French. Love you to pieces.
Image
Best birthday of my life!!! I had a surprise birthday song, dance and even bubbles!!! There’s something special about a small university 🙂
Image
Another crazy Acadian, Briar. I love you buddy!!! Thanks for making my last year incredible, and full of six-pack making abs from all the laughter 🙂
Image
Et voilà, my partners in crime. Cheers to another 5 weeks coming up and many, many more memories to be made. Love you two!!
Image
More beauties I get to work with every spring! It’s hard to understand how amazing these people are until you’re with them. All we wanna do is sing and dance!! Oui Oui Oui Oui Oui!!!
Image
I think many people from Clare will make it big.
Image
Arielle, you’re beautiful inside and out. Thanks for so many words of wisdom! xo
If Acadians are anything, they're patient. I first realized this during immersion when I could not speak English, and it continued with this beauty right here, Julienne, who tried teaching me science. Love you girl! xo
If Acadians are anything, they’re patient. I first realized this during immersion when I could not speak English, and it continued with this beauty right here, Julienne, who tried teaching me science. Love you girl! xo
3 thoughts on “Clare, Nova Scotia, Canada.

  1. I have many beautiful memories there. Damien made me taste “la rapure”, “le fricot”, “la chaudrée”. It was one of the most interesting Christmases I’d ever had!

Leave a Reply

