Weekend wandering; Paris&Angers

With my fellow intern and partner in crime, Sheila, heading back to land of the English, leaving me with the Ch’ti people of the North, I was looking forward to my weekend in Angers even more than before as a distraction to being sad over her departure.

I mis you already my crazy friend
I mis you already my crazy friend
The weekend was pure happiness. The happiness started on the way to Paris in our culture car, sharing stories with people from France, Morocco, Peru and Africa.
In Morocco and Peru there is no bus schedule, so sometimes the students have to leave extra early to get where they need to go on time, and sometimes they have to wait for an hour or two, hoping that the bus will stop if it is not too full. I guess I wouldn’t mind the wait, or walking, for that matter, if it was sunny all the time. With all the talk of the Spanish language, country side, llamas, alpacas and sunshine in Peru, my desire to go has only grown…sometimes I feel like I need an entire new life just so I have enough time to travel the world, communicate, learn languages and really get to know the people in this vast landscape so I can learn enough to properly live life.
To say that the afternoon in Paris was fantastic would be an understatement. I travelled with my friend from Morocco who has never been there before so the day’s schedule was up to him. He chose the Eiffel tower as our first stop and since we had only four hours we didn’t have time for much else. We set off by foot, stopping at a market and a few shops along the way. Being a workday and not quite tourist season yet, there was plenty of space to wander, enjoying la Seine, the views, the architecture and our picnic in the 20 degree weather. It was a marvelous day, if not perfect.Image
 ImageImageImageImage
It was swell to finally make it back to Angers. This city is my home away from home and it is my wonderful friends there that make it so. When I go back it is like being with family again, so each time is like a breath of fresh air, a chance to relax.  We chatted the evening away and woke up early the next morning to prepare for the night of activities. On the menu; house warming and birthday party in one c’est à dire a lot of people, a lot of food, a lot of dance and little sleep. Needless to say it was a huge hit and we still managed to be up at 10 to hit the market and make brunch for the remaining 15 out of 30ish people. She has a beautiful terrace facing the sun so we soaked up the rays while drinking back coffee and laughing over stories from the night before.
ImageImage
                             Shinanigans
Image
happy to see this one again!
happy to see this one again!

ImageImageImageImageImage

That afternoon we went to the lake and enjoyed the cool grass, something that is rare in the city center. The evening brought us back to the city where we ate supper at a delectable French restaurant, worth the hour and a half wait. We were back at the lake the next day to meet friends for a BBQ and I left that afternoon for my five-hour trek back up North.
 Image
Friends, sunshine, and laughter; my definition of happiness, all weekend. Bliss.

“because he had no place he could stay in without getting tired of it and because there was nowhere to go but everywhere, keep rolling under the stars…”
― Jack Kerouac, On the Road

Leave a Reply

